CREAMY CARROT SOUP WITH ALMOND; Healthy soup for lazy Sunday Supper

CREAMY CARROT SOUP WITH ALMOND: Healthy soup for lazy Sunday Supper_DSC0106
Yesterday night I soaked Almonds to make some dessert, but morning when I saw fresh Carrots in my pantry I changed my idea to make dessert with soaked almonds completely. I decided to make creamy carrot soup, without plain flour or corn starch. I made this carrot soup with oats and almonds; the taste was very creamy so I gave the name Creamy carrot soup. I like this smooth silky textured soup for my Sunday lazy evening. I simply love the color and creamy texture of this soup; here is the quick and easy recipe for light supper.
INGREDIENTS
Serve: 4
4 Carrots, cubed
20 Almonds, soaked
2 tbsp. Oats
2 tbsp. Olive Oil or Butter
2 Bay Leaves
1 small stick of Cinnamon
Salt & White Pepper to taste
½ tsp. Nutmeg Powder
2 cups of vegetable stocks
2 cups water
Parsley for Garnish
METHOD
Peel the skin of almonds and slice 4 almonds finely for garnish. Keep aside sliced almonds.

Heat the oil or butter in the pan adds cinnamon stick, bay leaves and almonds, sauté. Add carrot cubes and oats, mix well.  Add vegetable stocks and bring to the boil. Cover with lid and simmer for 10-12 minutes till carrots are tender. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.

Remove bay leaves and cinnamon stick from the soup and blend it with a stick blender or in the food process. Blend well till smooth and transfer it to the pan again. Adjust the consistency by adding water and bring it to boil. Add nutmeg powder and season with salt and pepper. Ladle hot creamy soup in to the bowls. Top with sliced almonds and parsley. Serve with toast or focaccia bread.

Leave a Reply

