VEGETARIANS READ THIS CAREFULLY
You must be shocked after reading the title of my blog, I am Vegetarian, but I am eating food outside and home cooked. Yes I am vegetarian by birth and because of my religious background. I usually read the list of ingredients at the back of packing because there are so many cooked foods or packed foods contain chemicals of animal origin. First of all I checked the Green Circle in the square means suitable for vegetarian. I recently read on the net list of the ingredients may be of animal origin, which I am sharing with you:
E 120, E 140, E 141, E 153, E 161, E 252, E 280, E 322, E 430, E 436, E 450, E470, E481, E491, E495, E 540, E545, E 552, E570, E572, E623, E627, E631, E635 etc.
Most of the cheese contains Rennet derived from the intestine of cow, but there is Renin also available as a substitute of Rennet, which is plant based, suitable for vegetarians.
Most of the pudding, cheese cakes and Jellies are made of gelatin that is made by boiling of bones and cartilages of animal. Agar Agar is the name of plant based gelatin substitute. It’s known as Chinese grass also. Margarine sometimes contains fish oil.
Chewing Gum may contain glycerin so be careful to read the label about glycerin, it may be derived from vegetarian or non-vegetarian sources. The same way some of the Chocolate contains E 322 and Lecithin, but don’t worry there are plant based Soya Lecithin is available the only question is to read the packet carefully.